Making Your Community More Energy Wise: New Federal Grants for Energy Efficiency and Clean Energy

Time: 10:15 am - 11:30 am

Date: March 14, 2022

Location: Liberty Salons IJK


• Learn how the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant can be used in your community for energy efficiency, renewable energy, and greenhouse gas reduction projects.
• Understand the process and timeline for accessing funds and how to work with key partners including state government.
• Engage with other local officials about strategies and solutions for clean energy, energy efficiency, and energy conservation.

For the first time in over a decade, the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law provides $550 million in federal funds for the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) program. This U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) program assists states and local governments in reducing fossil fuel emissions, conserving energy, and improving energy efficiency in the transportation sector, the built environment, and more. These flexible funds are coming to small, medium, and large cities, towns, and villages across the country, either directly from DOE or through state energy offices. In this session, participants will learn about the program and eligible uses for these resources from federal agency staff and state partners. You’ll also engage in small group discussions to explore effective strategies for clean energy, energy efficiency, and energy conservation in your community.


  • Nicholas Kasza Program Manager, Sustainability - National League of Cities
  • Shara Mohtadi Chief of Staff for the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) - U.S. Department of Energy
  • View full profile for Torend CollinsTorend Collins
  • View full profile for Spencer ThibodeauSpencer Thibodeau
  • View full profile for Shara MohtadiShara Mohtadi
  • John Bachmann City and Regional Planner
  • Ann McGrane Transportation Planner and Policy Advisor - Stantec
  • Zach Greene Clean Energy Associate - World Resources Institute (WRI)
  • Lisa Brown
  • Stefen Samarripas Local Policy Manager - ACEEE
  • Ryan Warsing Associate - RMI
  • Ryan Freed Sr. Director for Policy & Regulatory Strategy - Institute for Market Transformation
  • View full profile for Patrick ArnessPatrick Arness Senior Director, Government Relations - Edison Electric Institute
  • Michael Winn Senior Manager of State and Local Policy - American Institute of Architects
  • David Terry Executive Director - National Association of State Energy Officials
  • Jeni Arndt Mayor - Fort Collins, Colorado
  • Emily Larson Mayor - Duluth, Minnesota
  • Patrick Wojahn Mayor - College Park, Maryland